Adjusting the Dial
Songs
Lobelia (phone demo)
6
0:00
-3:57

Lobelia (phone demo)

New Song
6

A couple of Wednesdays ago I put out a piece about “shaking the snow globe.” I am shaking mine through the homework of a songwriting course I’m currently enrolled in.

Within the first hour of the first class students were given 10 prompts, 20 seconds to write about each prompt, and then 20 minutes to take all of those musings and put them into a song. Oh, and we were given the G and E minor chord.

I came out with a verse and chorus and finished the rest a couple of weeks later. It was a great exercise in understanding that the barrier to entry doesn’t have to be as high as we are often wont to make it.

P.S. I don’t know where this song fits for me and I only mention that because I figured you might be thinking the same thing. However, for now, that’s not the point. The point is to keep creative, not judge and see what ends up sticking. Thanks for listening.

prompt 1 - shirtless sunning boys

Shirtless sunning boys
On the rock by the falls
One broken
One tall

Shirtless running boys
On the track by the school
One fast
And one feels the fool

I’ll paint my smoking ghost
portraiture
Little vampires singing songs
As I forfeit her

Looking for love where it ain’t
So I’ll head back home
Find your water and sink like a stone

‘Cause Mama always did know how
To keep me safe from the world
Told me one day I’d find that girl  

She lay still enough for the flowers 
To grow from her
Head to toe in lobelia
a brushfire burn

Shirtless cunning boys
Calling her on the phone
One scared and
One tangle of thorns

Shirtless bloody boys
Setting fire to the night
Burning up with their appetite

She’d never come before
so why show now
Heard the songs of little vampires
And didn’t know how

She ended up here in the night
So far from her home
Getting caught in a tangle of thorns

Recognized the broken boy 
Holding her so tight
taking orders
His knuckles blooming white 

I’ll paint my smoking ghost
portraiture
Little vampires singing songs
As i forfeit her

Saw you last night in a dream
I’m always looking for you 
In the scent of Lobelias in bloom

But never do you come to light
save for an edge of pain
Lost a limb that won’t flower again

She lay still enough for the flowers 
To grow from her
Head to toe in lobelia
a brushfire burn

Looking for love where it ain’t
So I head back home
Find your water and sink like a stone

Mama always did know how
To keep me safe from the world
Told me one day I’d find that girl
 

6 Comments
Adjusting the Dial
Songs
Unreleased songs, demos, lyrics, and more.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
David Ward