Adjusting the Dial
Songs
Somewhere (from West Side Story)
4
0:00
-3:09

Somewhere (from West Side Story)

acoustic phone demo
4

A special Saturday delivery.

This request comes from my keyboardist, co-producer, and friend, Jonny Tobin.

Now, admittedly I haven’t seen/heard all of the musicals played and recorded over the course of history, but could West Side Story be the greatest of all time? I think so.

The music from this show has always captured my imagination, I’d say even more fiercely so in the last 5 years.

Somewhere is a beautiful song and a doozy to cover. Some of the arrangement touches I made were inspired by John Williams’ most recent orchestration for the Spielberg remake.

Thanks for putting me up to the challenge, Jonny.

Enjoy.

4 Comments
Adjusting the Dial
Songs
Unreleased songs, demos, lyrics, and more.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
David Ward